Proficiency Awards

The British Academy of Fencing proficiency awards scheme offers a concrete way to measure your progress in fencing. The scheme is suitable for adults and children alike as it focuses on real fencing techniques.

What is involved?

There are three levels: Bronze, Silver and Gold. Each level will test both your knowledge and skills. It is possible for complete beginners to achieve the Bronze award after a few months and the prestigious Gold award can be attained with persistent training.

Each award comes with a certificate and lapel badge. More important, though, is that the scheme will equip you with the skills and confidence to fence with the wide range of opponents you will encounter at a club night or even a competition.

Here is the syllabus for the BAF Proficiency Awards to give you an idea of what to expect. BAF study guides are also available to help you get to grips with the material.

an image

Work books

We are also designing a series of work books to help fencers practise for the awards. There will be a workbook for each of the three levels (Bronze, Silver and Gold).

The main feature of each book will be a number of exercises for you to practise with a partner. By working your way through these exercises you will practise many variations of each stroke you will need to pass the award.

The work books will be available to all our members and will gradually become a standard part of our junior training sessions.

Southampton Epee Club Introductory Award

Junior beginners at Southampton Epee Club start their fencing career by working towards this club level proficiency award. The award is designed to help beginners achieve a competent level in the basic elements of the sport, before progressing to the BAF Bronze award. It has a similar structure to the BAF system, with theoretical and practical elements. There is also a work book to guide young fencers towards achieving the award.